Join the Nestrans Board – Non-Councillor Vacancy

Our Board consists of eight Councillor Members, four nominated by each of the constituent Councils and four non-Councillor Members, and it is one such ‘non-Councillor’ Member vacancy that the Board are seeking applications for presently.

The inclusion of ‘non-Councillor’ Members serve an important purpose on the Nestrans Board, helping to promote a range of perspectives around the table, as well as a detachment from local and national politics.

This appointment is an opportunity to join the board at an exciting time for transport in the north east, with the delivery of many major projects underway or nearing completion. If you are successful in your application, you will be working with Board to help shape the future development and delivery of the Regional Transport Strategy; ensuring that our transport system supports the future needs of Aberdeen City & Shire.

If your application is shortlisted for interview, you will be required to meet with our Appointments Committee in mid-January 2018 to discuss your application.

The appointment of the new non-Councillor Board Member will run for a period of five years, subject to review after two years, from the date of appointment. The successful candidate will be expected to attend up to six meetings a year with the possibility of some additional informal meetings.

Before submitting your application pack, we encourage you to browse this website to become better acquainted with the work Nestrans currently undertake and support and full details on the wide range of projects we cover.

If you have any questions or queries about the work of Nestrans or your application, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Please note that you are required to submit your full application by close of business on 1st December 2017.

Application Closing Date1 December 2017
Download Application Pack

More About Nestrans


The Nestrans Board is made up of four Councillors from Aberdeen City Council, four Councillors from Aberdeenshire Council, and four non-Councillor members appointed in a personal capacity by the Minister for Transport following open advertisement and selection.

Board Meetings

Board Meetings
The Board usually meets every two months in public. Meetings usually take place at Aberdeenshire Council Headquarters, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen.

Contact Nestrans

Contact Nestrans
Contact the Nestrans team.