Nestrans appoint new board leadership

Lucy Johnston2022, News

Nestrans, the Regional Transport Partnership (RTP) for the North East of Scotland, has appointed Councillor John Crawley as its new Chair.

The Chair is supported by two Vice Chairs; Councillor Michael Hutchison of Aberdeen City Council, along with Dr Margaret Bochel, Director of Aurora Planning, and the former Head of Planning and Sustainable Development at Aberdeen City Council.

Existing and new members of the board met for the first time yesterday (Wednesday 22 June) to appoint the new leadership following the local government elections in May.

As the work of Nestrans covers both Aberdeen city and Aberdeenshire, the role of Chair alternates between the two local authorities every two and a half years. Councillor Crawley takes up the role following Councillor Sandra Macdonald of Aberdeen City Council, who will continue to contribute to the board as a substantive member.

Councillor Crawley is a member of Aberdeenshire Council and serves as Chair of its Infrastructure Services Committee.

The new board covered a range of issues in the Regional Transport Strategy, including the flagship Aberdeen Rapid Transit project. Active Travel featured prominently in their discussions, following an update from officers on the recent funding success, as well as progress on the review and revision of the Active Travel Action Plan (AcTrAP).

A full recording of the board meeting is available to view. The board will next meet on 7 September.