New Nestrans Chair Appointed

Stuart Smith2012, News

A NEW chairman has been appointed to lead regional transport partnership Nestrans.

Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside councillor Peter Argyle takes on the role, replacing councillor Ian Yuill who stepped down after a year.

Mr Argyle, who is also chair of Aberdeenshire Council’s Infrastructure Services Committee, has sat on the Nestrans board since 2008.

He said: “I’m delighted to have been chosen as the new chairman of Nestrans. The organisation plays an important role in improving transport links across Aberdeen City and Shire and creating a modern, integrated transport infrastructure which benefits the north-east socially, environmentally and economically.

“There are a number of major projects progressing in the year ahead and I look forward to working with the Nestrans Board members, staff, partners and others for the benefit of Aberdeen City and Shire’s people and our businesses.”

Mr Argyle is joined by newly appointed vice-chair Ramsay Milne, councillor for Tillydrone, Seaton and Old Aberdeen. Eddie Anderson continues as co-vice chair.